Accueil

img_03

POURQUOI NOUS CHOISIR

Expérience, professionnalisme et compassion

En savoir plus sur notre centre de traitement d’oxygènotherapie hyperbare d’une qualité exceptionnelle, opérer par des professionnels, idéalement situés sur l’île Perrot, juste à l’ouest de Montréal.

Découvrez nos traitements et services

img_04

À PROPOS DE NOTRE CLINIQUE

Centre Hyperbare de L’ile est une clinique formulée à partir de plus de trente ans d’expérience en oxygénothérapie hyperbare. Notre Centre a été créé avec vous le patient à l’esprit. À l’aide de l’équipement hyperbare Perry Baromedical, notre centre a été façonné pour fournir aux patients un environnement sûr et efficace pour explorer ce traitement qui a toujours fourni des résultats impressionnants soutenus par des études scientifiques.

Découvrez plus sur notre clinique

img_05

QU'EST-CE QUE L'OTHB?

L’oxygénothérapie hyperbare  (OTH) est un traitement thérapeutique passionnant approuvé par Santé Canada, la FDA et l’AMA. La thérapie hyperbare de l’oxygène (HBO) est un traitement thérapeutique passionnant approuvé par Santé Canada, la FDA et l’AMA. L’OTH améliore le niveau d’oxygène dans les tissus. Il a la même logique que de donner du sang pour l’hémorragie ou l’eau pour la déshydratation.

Compréhension de l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare

BIENVENUE AU CENTRE HYPERBARE DE L'ÎLE

Nous avons le privilège sincère de vous présenter à notre centre situé à l’ouest de Montréal, sur la belle île de l’Ile-Perrot.

Centre hyperbare de l’île a été créé en 2004. Depuis lors, nous avons livré plus de 35 000 traitements pour patients en toute sécurité et sans incident. L’oxygénothérapie hyperbare est une intervention thérapeutique capable de fournir des résultats remarquables dans des conditions très difficiles. Les fondements de ce traitement peuvent être attribués au début du 19ème siècle.

Le Centre hyperbare de l’île est une installation de traitement d’oxygènotherapie hyperbare indépendante. Nous utilisons la chambre hyperbare Perry Baromedical Sigma II – l’équipement le plus polyvalent disponible, permettant des soins individuels et dédiés individualisés. Les traitements sont administrés par notre personnel de techniciens certifiés, hautement qualifiés et expérimentés.

Merci d’avoir pris le temps de visiter notre site Web. L’oxygène hyperbare est une technique thérapeutique exceptionnelle qui est capable de fournir des résultats impressionnants dans un certain nombre de conditions, apparemment sans rapport. Les points communs sont une grave pénurie d’oxygène et d’inflammation. L’absence d’oxygène provoque des tissus dans notre corps pour ne pas fonctionner aussi bien qu’ils le peuvent, car l’oxygène est utilisé pour créer l’énergie nécessaire pour fonctionner.

Nous espérons que vous trouverez ce site informatif. Si vous avez d’autres questions ou préoccupations, n’hésitez à remplir notre formulaire de contact.

Quels sont les avantages de l’OTH?

Comment fonctionne de l’oxygène hyperbare ?

INDICATIONS POUR L’OTH

L’oxygénothérapie hyperbare est une thérapie sûre et efficace. À première vue, les indications ci-dessous semblent indépendantes. Ce qu’ils ont en commun? Flux sanguin compromis, hypoxie ou inflammation.

Blessures sportives (tissus mous, tendons et ligament)

L’OTH a été utilisé pour traiter les blessures des articulations, des muscles, des ligaments et des tendons chez les footballeurs en Ecosse. Lorsque OTH a été utilisé en conjonction avec la physiothérapie, le temps de récupération a été réduit de 70%. (James, PB 1993) Le temps entre les blessures et le traitement affecte les résultats. Les zones de perfusion réduite semblent bénéficier le plus. En règle générale, plus vite nous traitons la blessure, plus le OTH est efficace et moins de traitements nécessaires pour atteindre les performances avant la blessure.

Commotions cérébrales (lésion cérébrale traumatique légère et stress post-traumatique)

Les commotions cérébrales ont reçu une attention accrue ces derniers temps. Les commotions cumulatives ont montré que l’augmentation de la possibilité d’une lésion de la tête entraînant une incapacité neurologique permanente de 39%. Les études ont montré que le football de l’école secondaire représente 47% de toutes les commotions sportives signalées, avec 33% des commotions cérébrales survenant au cours de la pratique. Des améliorations significatives des symptômes post-commotion cérébrale et des résultats secondaires ont été obtenues grâce à un traitement hyperbare, y compris la dépression, la qualité du sommeil, la satisfaction de la vie et la fonction physique, cognitive et mentale. (Hoge et Jonas 2014)

Fibromyalgie

Des chercheurs Israéliens ont démontré que l’OTH peut améliorer les symptômes et la qualité de vie des patients atteints du syndrome fibromyalgie. En outre, ils ont montré que l’OTH peut induire une neuroplasticité et rectifier significativement l’activité anormale du cerveau dans les domaines liés à la douleur des patients atteints de fibromyalgie. (Efrati et al 2015)

Pré conditionnement chirurgical

Le pré conditionnement avec de l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare (PC-OTH) est neuro-protecteur et a démontré une efficacité chez les patients soumis à un pontage coronarien. (Hu et al 2011) Le pré conditionnement avec OTH améliore le dysfonctionnement cognitif postopératoire en réduisant le stress et l’inflammation des oxydants. Des études supplémentaires suggèrent que le traitement par OTH le jour précédent la chirurgie peut réduire les complications possibles liées aux procédures.

Soins de soutien du cancer

L’utilisation de OTH chez les patients atteints de malignité est considérée comme sûre. Il existe des preuves qui impliquent que OTH semble avoir des effets inhibiteurs de la tumeur dans certains sous-types de cancer. Les chercheurs ont constaté que l’hypoxie (manque d’oxygène) semble déclencher une panique métabolique qui peut augmenter la croissance des tumeurs, la résistance aux médicaments et les métastases (Science News, 4 mars 2017).

De plus, des études ont montré que combiner l’oxygène hyperbare avec le régime kétogène est une approche efficace du traitement multidisciplinaire du cancer métastatique. (Poff et al, 2015)

Perte auditive soudaine et acouphènes

Une amélioration significative a été signalée entre les audiogrammes initiaux et finaux après l’application du traitement OTH avec une perte auditive soudaine. Les enquêtes ont noté que OTH a contribué de manière significative à l’amélioration de l’acouphène lorsqu’il a été traité dès le début. (Lamm et al, 2016)

Maladie de Lyme

Dans une étude de la maladie de Lyme chronique de Texas A & M-84.8_% des patients (n = 91) ont montré une amélioration significative des symptômes, y compris la confusion mentale, douleur, dépression et fatigue.

En plus des antibiotiques, les médecins comprennent souvent l’OTB comme traitement pour aider les patients à combattre les maladies de Lyme. C’est parce que la bactérie qui cause la maladie de Lyme est connue sous le nom de «anaérobie», ce qui signifie simplement qu’il ne peut exister dans l’oxygène. L’un des principaux avantages de l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare est que le processus augmente en toute sécurité les niveaux d’oxygène dans votre corps, ce qui peut finalement entraîner une réduction des bactéries nocives.

Les patients qui subissent une thérapie oxygénothérapie hyperbare pour une aide à leur maladie de Lyme peuvent éprouver quelque chose comme la réponse d’Herxheimer, qui comprend des symptômes tels que la fièvre, les frissons, les maux de tête et plus encore. Ceci est causé par les endotoxines qui sont libérées lorsque les bactéries nocives décèdent. Heureusement, cette réaction ne dure généralement que quelques heures jusqu’à quelques jours, et des produits pharmaceutiques supplémentaires peuvent être prescrits pour aider à soulager les symptômes.

Syndrome de stress post-traumatique

Des études ont rapporté que l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare a entraîné une réduction dramatique des symptômes psychiatriques tels que l’anxiété et la privation de sommeil chez les patients lorsqu’ils sont initiés de six mois à trois ans après un traumatisme (Eovaldi, 2010)

L’OTH a montré une augmentation des cellules souches circulantes, entraînant des améliorations significatives de Syndrome de stress post-traumatique, dépression, qualité du sommeil, satisfaction de la vie et physique, cognitive et fonction de santé mentale. (JAMA IntMed Nov2014)

Guérison retardée des plaies et des fractures

L’oxygénothérapie hyperbare est un traitement puissant pour les blessures aiguës et chroniques, agissant sur des tissus blessés et cicatrisants de plusieurs façons. L’OTH a montré des résultats favorables dans le traitement du tissu hypoxique, des lésions de reperfusion ischémique, du syndrome de compartiment, des blessures par écrasement, des rabats défaillants, des plaies chroniques, des brûlures et des infections nécrosantes.

Lésion tissulaire de rayonnement

L’oxygènotherapie hyperbare (OTH) est une option de traitement qui est adapté pour répondre à des problèmes causés par les dommages aux tissus de rayonnement. Il a été démontré que la résolution de l’oedème (Carl et al. 2001), la restauration de l’activité lymphocytaire (Hunt 1988), la formation de nouveaux vaisseaux sanguins (Marx et al., 1990) et la prévention de la fibrose (Feldmeier et al., 1995a) sont des mécanismes fondamentaux et bénéfiques pour OTH dans les tissus endommagés. L’OTH est connu pour réduire la douleur, prévenir la perte de tissus et aider à la chirurgie reconstructive.

Accident cérébrovasculaire

Dans une revue de 400 cas menés en 1995, Nighoghossian et Trouillas ont conclu que la thérapie OTH était une méthode sûre et efficace pour améliorer les résultats après un accident vasculaire cérébral. Les résultats d’une étude réalisée en Israël par Efrati et al (2013) a indiqué que l’OTH peut apporter des améliorations neurologiques dans les patients post-accidents vasculaires cérébraux, même dans les stades chroniques des années après l’accident vasculaire cérébral. Ils ont observé des améliorations cliniques dans cette étude impliquent que la neuroplasticité peut encore être activée longtemps après l’AVC.

Support de récupération post-chirurgicale

L’oxygène hyperbare est un ajout précieux à l’arsenal disponible pour les médecins pour le traitement du patient postopératoire. Le rétablissement chez une personne saine peut se soigner jusqu’à 75% plus rapidement en utilisant OTH avant et après la chirurgie. Moins de douleur, moins de cicatrices, moins de temps de récupération pour le patient et moins d’infections sont rapportées. Les patients peuvent retourner au travail plus rapidement, avec moins d’ecchymose et moins d’inflammation. (Larsson, 2002)

Sclérose en plaques

OTH ne guérit pas le sclérose en plaques, mais il existe des preuves pour suggérer un certain bénéfice symptomatique dans la majorité des patients et la stabilisation apparente ou un ralentissement de la progression de la maladie dans un nombre important (17 à 33%) de ceux qui reçoivent la poursuite du traitement périodique sur 10 ans ou plus.

Sur la base des considérations d’efficacité et de sécurité de comparaison, il est recommandé que l’OTH être utilisé pour le traitement précoce de le sclérose en plaques pour avoir des améliorations associé à la fonction cérébelleuse et de la dysfonction intestinale. (Gottlieb-Neubauer, 1988)

Paralysie cérébrale

Le traitement de l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare a montré des avantages reproductibles pendant plus de deux décennies dans des centaines d’enfants atteints de PC dans le monde entier. Des améliorations ont été observées dans la fonction de la motricité global, motricite fine et la réduction de la spasticité et amélioration de la fonction cognitive (A. Mukherjee, M. Raison, T. Sahni, Arya a., et coll. 2014)

Autisme

Un certain nombre d’études indépendantes ont montré que l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare augmente le flux sanguin cérébral, diminue l’inflammation neurologique et gastro-intestinale. Ces études ont également documenté une amélioration de la fonction mitochondriale et des changements comportementaux positifs. (Rosignol, D. et al. 2012)

Autres indications de l’OTH (PDF)

Autres indications de l’OTH (PDF) Les caractéristiques communes qui relient toutes les indications dans lesquelles l’oxygénothérapie hyperbare est efficace sont l’inflammation et de l’hypoxie (ou le manque d’oxygène). Cliquez ici pour le la liste au complète.

TÉMOIGNAGES DE NOS CLIENTS

I started seeing some improvements in the way Maya is interacting with us – actually many of our friends who saw her “before and…

Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy has been very beneficial for my son diagnosed with ASD. We saw improvement in eye contact, awareness...

In April, we began an amazing journey into hyperbaric oxygen treatments for our son, Joseph. The plan was to receive 40 treatments; 5 days…

Amélioration de la qualité de vie des
patients souffrant de troubles impliquant
l’inflammation et l’hypoxie

Contactez-nous pour en savoir plus sur notre clinique d’oxygènotherapie hyperbare

CONTACTEZ-NOUS MAINTENANT

Home

img_03

WHY CHOOSE US

Experience, Professionalism and Compassion Learn more about our state of the art hyperbaric oxygen treatment facility, which is operated by professionals, conveniently located on Île Perrot, just to the west of Montreal.

Learn About Our Treatments and Services

img_04

ABOUT OUR CLINIC

Island Hyperbaric Centre is a cutting edge clinic formulated from over thirty years of experience in clinical hyperbaric oxygen therapy. Our Centre was created with you the patient in mind. Using state of the art hyperbaric equipment from Perry Baromedical, our centre was fashioned to provide patients with a safe and effective environment to explore this treatment that has consistently provided impressive results supported by scientific studies.

Learn more About Our Clinic

img_05

WHAT IS HBOT?

Hyperbaric oxygen (HBO) therapy is an exciting therapeutic treatment approved by Health Canada, the FDA and AMA which enhances tissue levels of life giving oxygen. It carries with it the same logic as giving blood for hemorrhage or water for dehydration.

Understanding Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy

WELCOME TO ISLAND HYPERBARIC CENTER

It is our sincere privilege to introduce you to our centre located to the west of Montreal on the beautiful island of L’Île-Perrot

Island Hyperbaric Centre was established in 2004. Since that time, we have delivered over 35,000 patient treatments safely and without incident. Hyperbaric oxygen is a powerful therapeutic intervention capable of remarkable results in very difficult conditions. The foundations of this treatment can be traced to the early 19th century.

Island Hyperbaric Centre is an extraordinary independent hyperbaric oxygen treatment facility. We use the Perry Baromedical Sigma II hyperbaric chamber – the most versatile equipment available, allowing personal and dedicated individualized care. Treatments are administered by our staff of certified, highly trained and experienced technicians.

Thank you for taking the time to visit our website. Hyperbaric oxygen is an exceptionable therapeutic technique that is capable of providing impressive results in a number of conditions,  that are seemingly unrelated. The common threads are a critical shortage of oxygen and inflammation. The absence of oxygen causes tissues in our body to not work as well as they could because oxygen is used to create the energy needed to function.

We hope that you find this site informative. If you have additional questions or concerns please feel to complete our contact form. We are here to help you as you explore treatment with oxygen under pressure.

What are the Benefits of HBO?

How does Hyperbaric Oxygen Work?

INDICATIONS FOR HBOT

Hyperbaric oxygen is a safe and effective therapy. At first glance the indications below appear to be unrelated. What they do have in common? Compromised blood flow, hypoxia or inflammation.

Sports Injuries (soft tissue, tendon & ligament)

HBOT has been used to treat joint, muscle, ligament, and tendon injuries in soccer players in Scotland. When HBOT was used in conjunction with physiotherapy, the time to recovery was reduced by 70%. (James, PB 1993) Time between injury and treatment affects the outcomes. Areas of reduced perfusion seem to benefit the most. As a rule the faster we treat the injury the more effective HBO seems to be and fewer treatments are required to achieve pre-injury performance.

Concussion (mild TBI, Post concussion syndrome)

Concussion have received increased attention lately. Cumulative sports concussions have been shown to increase the likelihood of catastrophic head injury leading to permanent neurological disability by 39%. High school football accounts for 47% of all reported sports concussions, with 33 percent of concussions occurring during practice. Significant improvements in post-concussion symptoms and secondary outcomes have been attained through hyperbaric treatment, including depression, sleep quality, satisfaction with life and physical, cognitive and mental health function. (Hoge and Jonas 2014)

Fibromyalgia

Israeli researchers have demonstrated that HBOT can significantly reduce the pain while improving the symptoms and life quality of Fibromyalgia syndrome patients. Moreover, they showed that HBOT can induce neuroplasticity and significantly rectify abnormal brain activity in pain related areas of FMS patients. (Efrati et al 2015)

Surgical Preconditioning

Hyperbaric oxygen preconditioning (HBO-PC) is neuro-protective and has demonstrated efficiency in patients undergoing coronary artery bypass graft. (Hu et al 2011)

Preconditioning with HBO improves postoperative cognitive dysfunction by reducing oxidant stress and inflammation. Additional studies suggest treatment with HBO the day prior to surgery may reduce possible complication associated with procedures.

Supportive Care for Cancer

The use of HBO in patients with malignancies is considered safe. There is evidence that implies that HBO seems to have tumor-inhibitory effects in certain cancer subtypes. Researchers have found that hypoxia (lack of oxygen) appears to trigger a metabolic panic that can increase the growth of tumors, drug resistance and metastasis.(Science News March 4,2017).

Additionally, studies have shown that combining hyperbaric oxygen with the ketogenic diet is an effective approach to multi-disciplinary treatment of metastatic cancer. (Poff et al , 2015)

Sudden Hearing Loss

Significant Improvement has been reported between initial and final audiograms after the application of HBO Treatment with sudden Hearing Loss. Investigations have noted that HBO significantly contributed to the improvement of tinnitus when treated early on. (Lamm et al, 2016)

Lyme Disease

In a study of Chronic Lyme Disease from Texas A&M- 84.8% of treated patients (n=91) showed significant improvement of symptoms, including mental confusion, pain, depression and fatigue.

In addition to antibiotics, physicians will often include hyperbaric oxygen therapy as a treatment to help patients fight off Lyme disease. This is because the bacterium that causes Lyme disease is known as “anaerobic,” which simply means that it cannot exist in oxygen. One of the primary benefits of Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy is that the process safely increases oxygen levels within your body, which can ultimately cause a reduction of harmful bacteria.

Patients undergoing Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy for help with their Lyme disease may experience something called the Herxheimer response, which includes symptoms such as fever, chills, headache, flushing, and more. This is caused by endotoxins that are released as the harmful bacteria dies. Fortunately, this reaction typically lasts only a few hours or days, and additional pharmaceuticals can be prescribed to help ease any symptoms.

Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

Studies have reported hyperbaric oxygen therapy resulted in a dramatic reduction of psychiatric symptoms such as anxiety and sleep deprivation in patients when initiated six months to three years post trauma (Eovaldi, 2010).

HBOT was shown to increased circulating stem cells, resulting in significant improvements in PTSD, depression, sleep quality, satisfaction with life and physical, cognitive and mental heath function. (JAMA IntMed Nov2014)

Delayed Wound and Fracture Healing

Hyperbaric oxygen is a powerful treatment for acute and chronic wounds, acting on injured and healing tissue in a number of ways. Hypoxic tissue, reperfusion injury, compartment syndrome,
crush injury, failing flaps, chronic wounds, burns and necrotising infections have all been shown to respond favourably to HBO2. (Wright, 2001)

Radiation Tissue Injury

Hyperbaric oxygen (HBO) is a treatment option that is suited to address problems caused by radiation tissue damage. It has been shown, that resolution of edema (Carl et. al. 2001), restoration of lymphocyte activity (Hunt 1988), formation of new blood vessels (Marx et al. 1990) and prevention of fibrosis (Feldmeier et al. 1995a) are basic and beneficial mechanisms for HBO in damaged tissues. HBOT has been known to reduce pain, prevent tissue loss, and assist in reconstructive surgery.

Stroke

In a review of 400 cases conducted in 1995, Nighoghossian and Trouillas concluded that HBO therapy was a safe and effective method for improving outcomes after stroke. The results from a study out of Israel by Efrati et al (2013) indicated that HBOT can lead to significant neurological improvements in post stroke patients even at chronic late stages. The observed clinical improvements in this study imply that neuroplasticity can still be activated long after damage onset.

Post Surgical Recovery Support

Hyperbaric oxygen is a valuable addition to the armamentarium available to physicians for treating postoperative patient. Recovery in a healthy person can heal up to 75% faster using HBOT, before and after surgery. Less pain, less scars, less down time for the patient, less infections are reported. Patients can return to work faster, with less bruising, or swelling. (Larsson,2002)

Multiple Sclerosis

HBOT is not a cure, but there is evidence to suggest some symptomatic benefit in a majority of patients and apparent stabilization or slowing of progression of the disease in a significant number (17 to 33%) of those who receive continuing periodic therapy over 10 years or longer.

Based on comparative efficacy and safety considerations, it is recommended that HBOT be used for treating early MS and for improving MS associated cerebellar function and bowel-bladder dysfunction (Gottlieb-Neubauer 1988)

Cerebral Palsy

Hyperbaric oxygen (HBO2 ) treatment has shown reproducible benefits for more than two decades in hundreds of children with CP around the world. Improvements were seen in Gross Motor Function, Fine Motor Function reduction in spasticity and improved cognitive function.(A. Mukherjee, M. Raison, T. Sahni, A. Arya, et al. 2014)

Autism

A number of independent studies have shown hyperbarics to increase cerebral blood, decrease neuro and gastrointestinal inflammation. These studies have also documented increased mitochondrial function and positive behavioral changes. (Rosignol ,D. et al 2012)

Other indications for HBOT (PDF)

The common characteristics linking all indications in which hyperbaric oxygen is effective are inflammation and hypoxia (or lack of oxygen). Download the PDF

TESTIMONIALS FROM OUR CLIENTS

I started seeing some improvements in the way Maya is interacting with us – actually many of our friends who saw her “before and…

Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy has been very beneficial for my son diagnosed with ASD. We saw improvement in eye contact, awareness...

In April, we began an amazing journey into hyperbaric oxygen treatments for our son, Joseph. The plan was to receive 40 treatments; 5 days…

LATEST BLOG POSTS

Hyperbaric Oxygen Therapy Can Induce Angiogenesis and Regeneration of Nerve Fibers in Traumatic Brain Injury Patients

Studies conducted in Israel continue to delineate mechanisms of action explaining the effectiveness of hyperbaric…

learn more..

Oxygen therapy revives brain of toddler who almost drowned

CBS News - July 21, 2017 In one of the first such confirmed cases, an…

learn more..

Oxygen therapy brings ‘remarkable’ turnaround for toddler who fell in pool

(CNN) July 21, 2017 Eden Carlson's story might be one in a million. The toddler,…

learn more..

Improving the quality of life for
patients with conditions involving
inflammation and hypoxia

Contact us to learn more about our Hyperbaric Oxygen
Therapy Clinic and our services